Cool Winds Blowing!

What a wonderful day it is today! Cool breezes a blowing! Windows and doors open! I love it the temps are in the 70’s and low humidity! Sweet! Now on FB a discussion has brewed. As too sewing vs quilting! Are you a sewer or a quilter and what is the difference. I started my life sewing dolls clothes and then my own clothes. Yes I was a seamstress. It is a different kind of sewing than a quilter does. I am a quilter these days. The few things other than quilt related projects that I make are hats for a friend going thru chemo. I do not hem pants nor do I mend or sew on buttons unless I really have too. I do sew seams on my quilts. I piece squares and most of all I appliqué. Which to me is hand sewing. I also sew the bindings and hanging sleeves to my quilts. So I consider that I am sewing when I am quilting. Also to me the act of quilting is sewing the 3 layers of a quilt together. The means to which it is quilted either by hand machine or longarm does not matter as it is the act of the quilting that makes it a quilt! 

Main Entry: sewing
Function: noun
Date: 14th century

1 : the act, method, or occupation of one that sews
2 : material that has been or is to be sewed

Main Entry: quilt·ing
Pronunciation: \ˈkwil-tiŋ\
Function: noun
Date: 1598

1 : material that is quilted or used for making quilts
2 : the process of quilting

So there you have the definitions of both words. Decide for yourself. I know I am a person that sews and I am a quilter as well. Again it is so important to Love what you do and to do what you love! Life is fragile live it to the fullest. Tell the people you Love that you love them. Everyday! Live Love and Laugh Enough!

Creatively Quilting!

Leave a Reply

